top of page

Whitburn Band award winners for 2023 revealed

(From left) Martyn Turnbull, Charlie Boax, Georgia Adamson and Graham Fraser with their awards

Whitburn Band has named its award winners for 2023. Graham Fraser was awarded Player of the Year. The band’s Principal Eb Bass player was recognised by Whitburn’s management and conductors after featuring as a soloist in many of the band’s contest performances throughout the past year, including Whitburn’s victories at the Scottish Championships and the Grand Shield. Charlie Boax was named Players’ Player of the Year. Voted for by the members of the band, Charlie was awarded after a fantastic year on Principal Baritone including a stand-out performance at the British Open. Charlie also became the Rotary Club UK Young Musician of the Year in 2023. Georgia Adamson was named Bandsperson of the Year and also won the special Chairman’s award. As well as performing in the band’s cornet section, Georgia’s brilliant work off stage was recognised as she helped to ensure the band’s participation at the European Championships in Malmo, Sweden. In 2023, Georgia also became Band Secretary, as long-standing secretary John Fraser took on the role of Contest Secretary. Martyn Turnbull was also given a special recognition award by the band. Martyn, a percussionist with the Whitburn Heartlands Band, has been pivotal in helping Whitburn perform throughout the year as the band’s driver, helping ensure our instruments arrived safely as we performed across UK and Europe.

Chris Bradley (left) with Band Chairman Charlie Farren.

Evelyn Bradley with her medal for over 30 years of service with Whitburn Band

Whitburn Band also awarded several members with long-service awards. Band stalwarts Chris and Evelyn Bradley were both awarded with medals to recognise over 30 years of service, while Stephen Duncan, Scott Forrest, Robert Fraser and John Fraser all received 20-year medals. Band Chairman Charlie Farren, Caroline Farren and Heather McMillan were all recognised with 10-year medals.

Robert Fraser - Eb Bass player, band archivist and band librarian - was awarded with a medal for 20 years service

John Fraser - the band's longest serving secretary in history - was awarded with a 20 years service medal

Scott Forrest, the band's soprano cornet player, was awarded for 20 years service to Whitburn Band

Amber Gourlay was voted Whitburn Heartlands Players’ Player of the Year, while Hamish Clark won Whitburn Heartlands Bandsperson of the Year. David Orr was named Whitburn Youth Band Player of the Year. Eilidh Stephenson won the Youth Band Bandsperson of the Year, while Nathaniel Steel and Blake Burchill were jointly awarded the Youth Band’s Most Improved Player.

Charlie and Caroline Farren are both celebrating 10 years service with Whitburn Band

Amber Gourlay was voted Whitburn Heartlands Players’ Player of the Year

David Orr was named Whitburn Youth Band Player of the Year

Eilidh Stephenson won the Whitburn Youth Band Bandsperson of the Year

Nathaniel Steel (pictured) was jointly awarded the Youth Band’s Most Improved Player along with Blake Burchill

Fiona McLean was presented with flowers in recognition of all her work organising all of the Whitburn development bands

All of the Whitburn bands are now looking forward to performing in 2024.

107 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page