top of page

Whitburn win Scottish Championships

Whitburn Band are the Scottish Champions!

The band, conducted by Professor Nicholas Childs, won the championship for the 21st time with its performance of Contest Music at Perth Concert Hall on Sunday.

Whitburn and Bon Accord have now qualified for the National Brass Band Championships of Great Britain, which will be held at the Royal Albert Hall in London in October, and Whitburn has been invited to represent Scotland at the European Brass Band Championships in Malmo, Sweden in 2023.

Well done to the individual prize winners from Whitburn - Chris Bradley (Best Cornet), Scott Forrest (Best Soprano), Andrew McMillan (Best Tenor Horn), Chris Shanks (Best Euphonium) and Graham Fraser (Best Bass), and Best Bass Section (Graham, Robert Fraser, Alan Gourlay, Neill Gourlay) and Best Percussion (Chris Yule, Stephen Duncan and Ryan Bradley).

Andrew McMillan (left) and Chris Shanks picking up their prizes for Best Horn and Best Euphonium

John Fraser (left) picking up the Terris Medal on behalf of Chris Bradley for Best Cornet, along with Scott Forrest who was awarded the prize for Best Soprano

Ryan Bradley (centre) is joined by adjudicators Sandy Smith and Sheona Wade after picking up the prize for Best Percussion, which he won with Chris Yule and Stephen Duncan.

Graham Fraser picked up the prize for Best Bass player, and he was part of the Best Bass section along with Robert Fraser, Alan Gourlay and Neill Gourlay

It was a double reason to celebrate for Whitburn Band President and Bass Trombone player Charlie Farren, who conducted Bo'ness & Carriden Band to victory in the First Section contest.

Congratulations to our conductor Professor Childs, and Bryan Allen who helped to prepare the band.

Congratulations also to all the prize winners over the whole weekend, and thank you to the Scottish Brass Band Association for organising the event.


Championship Section

Test piece: Contest Music (Wilfred Heaton)

Adjudicators: Sandy Smith and Sheona Wade

1. Whitburn - Prof Nicholas Childs (192 pts)

2. Bon-Accord Silver - Adam Cook (190)

3. the cooperation band - Russell Gray (189)

4. Kirkintilloch Kelvin - Thomas Wyss (187)

5. Unison Kinneil - Raymond Tennant (185)

6. Dalmellington - Erik Janssen (183)

7. Kingdom Brass - Ian Porthouse (182)

8. Newtongrange Silver - Anne Crookston (181)

9. Johnstone - Mark Good (180)

10. The Kirkintilloch Band - David Roberts (179)

Best Cornet: Chris Bradley (Whitburn)

Best Trombone: Mark Boyd (Bon-Accord)

Best Soprano: Scott Forrest (Whitburn)

Best Flugel: Lyndsay Roxburgh (the cooperation band)

Best Horn: Andrew McMillan (Whitburn)

Best Baritone: Carol Ednie (the cooperation band)

Best Euphonium: Chris Shanks (Whitburn)

Best Bass: Graham Fraser (Whitburn)

Best Bass Section: Whitburn

Best Percussion: Whitburn

61 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page