top of page

Whitburn Band retains Scottish Brass Band Championship title

Updated: Mar 14, 2023

Whitburn Band is celebrating after winning the Scottish Brass Band Championships for the second year in a row.

The band, conducted by Professor Nicholas Childs, won the contest at Perth Concert Hall on Sunday, 12 March.

It is the 22nd time the band has been Scottish champion, with the first victory in 1968.

As Scottish champions, Whitburn will now represent the country at the National Brass Band Championships of Great Britain, which will be held at the Royal Albert Hall in London in October.

The band will also be invited to compete at the European Brass Band Championships in Palanga, Lithuania next year. Whitburn performed Philip Wilby’s work Red Priest.

Whitburn players also won a number of solo and sectional awards at the Scottish championships.

Chris Bradley was named Best Cornet, with Andrew McMillan winning Best Horn.

Chris Shanks (Best Euphonium), Paul Kiernan (Best Trombone) and Graham Fraser (Best Eb Bass) also picked up awards.

The bass section of Graham, Robert Fraser, Alan Gourlay, Neill Gourlay was named Best Bass section, while Chris Yule, Heather McMillan, Ryan Bradley, Hannah McInnes and Fraser Wilson won Best Percussion.

It was a double celebration for Whitburn’s Band Chairman and bass trombonist Charlie Farren, who conducted Selkirk Silver Band to victory at the Scottish Brass Band Championships Third Section contest, which was held in the same venue a day earlier.

Charlie said: “Whitburn is delighted to have retained the Scottish title.

“Our thanks go to Nick Childs and also to Bryan Allen, who helped to prepare the band.

“Our focus now turns to the European Brass Band Championships in Malmo, Sweden in a few months where we hope to do Scotland proud.”


Adjudicators - Sandy Smith and John Ward

1. Whitburn (Prof Nicholas Childs) 194 pts

2. the cooperation band (Mike Fowles) 192 pts

3. Dalmellington (Erik Janssen) 191 pts 4. Dalkeith and Monktonhall (James Chamberlain) 189 pts 5. Kirkintilloch Kelvin (Thomas Wyss) 188 pts 6. Kingdom Brass (Corsin Tuor) 187 pts 7. Bon-Accord Silver (Adam Cook) 186 pts 8. Unison Kinneil (Raymond Tennant) 185 pts 9. Bo’ness & Carriden (Garry Cutt) 183 pts

10. Johnstone (Colin McKenzie) 182 pts

Best Cornet: Chris Bradley (Whitburn)

Best Trombone: Paul Kiernan (Whitburn)

Best Soprano: Katie Ankers (Dalmellington)

Best Flugel: Stephanie Kennedy (cooperation band)

Best Horn: Andrew McMillan (Whitburn)

Best Baritone: Carole Ednie (cooperation band)

Best Euphonium: Chris Shanks (Whitburn)

Best Bass: Graham Fraser (Whitburn)

Best Bass Section: Whitburn

Best Percussion: Whitburn

101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page